Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
The homestead exemption provides a reduction in property taxes to qualified senior or disabled citizens, or a surviving spouse, on the dwelling that is that individual's principal place of residence and up to one acre of land of which an eligible individual is an owner. The reduction is equal to the taxes that would otherwise be charged on up to $25,000 of the market value of an eligible taxpayer's homestead.
House Bill 59, passed June 27, 2013, and effective September 29, 2013, has made significant changes to who will qualify for the Homestead exemption on a going-forward basis. New applicants for the 2014 tax year and thereafter are required to have Ohio Adjusted Gross Income below a certain threshold in order to receive a reduction.
Persons who qualified and received the reduction for tax year 2013 (collected in 2014) have been "grandfathered" and will not be affected by the changes.
In addition, Am Sub House Bill 85, effective September 11, 2014 created an additional classification for recipients who are veterans experiencing service-connected disabilities and their qualifying spouses. The reduction for veterans qualifying for this new classification is equal to the taxes that would otherwise be charged on up to $50,000 of the market value of an eligible taxpayer's homestead.
You need to file a "Homestead Exemption Application for Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses" (Form DTE 105A (PDF)) or a "Homestead Exemption Application for Disabled Veterans and Surviving Spouses" (Form DTE 105I (PDF)) available from the County Auditor or on the Ohio Department of Taxation's website. For "Disability" applicants only, you also need to file a "Certificate of Disability" (Form DTE 105E (PDF)) available from the County Auditor or on the Ohio Department of Taxation's website.
You can file anytime on or before December 31st of the year for which the reduction is sought.
To receive the homestead exemption as a senior citizen, disabled person or surviving spouse you must:
An eligible surviving spouse:
Permanent and totally disabled means a person who has, on the first day of January of the year for which the homestead exemption is requested, some impairment of body or mind that makes them unfit to work at any substantially remunerative employment which they are reasonably able to perform and which will, with reasonable probability, continue for an indefinite period of at least 12 months without any present indication of recovery, or who has been certified as totally and permanently disabled by an eligible state or federal agency.
To receive the homestead exemption as a disabled veteran you must:
To be eligible as a surviving spouse of a disabled veteran:
The surviving spouse remains eligible for the exemption until the year following the year in which the surviving spouse remarries.
The statute calls for the maximum Ohio Adjusted Gross Income to be indexed each September.
If you did not file for the 2013 tax year you will fall under the new provisions of the law and must meet the income threshold in order to receive a reduction. Disabled veterans who meet the disability requirements do not need to meet the income threshold.
A person only has 1 principal place of residence: where you are registered to vote and where you declare residency for income tax purposes. Only the principal place of residence qualifies.
"Total income" is defined as the Adjusted Gross Income for Ohio income tax purposes (line 3 of Ohio income tax return) of the owner and the owner's spouse for the year preceding the year for which you are applying.
Adjusted Gross Income includes compensation, rents, interest, fees and most other types of total income. Certain Social Security and disability benefits are not included in Adjusted Gross Income. If you are unsure of what income is included, contact your County Auditor. You may be required to produce evidence of income.
The new application form shall contain a statement that signing the application constitutes a delegation of authority by the applicant(s) to both the Ohio Tax Commissioner and to the County Auditor and to their designated agents, individually or in consultation with each other, to examine any tax or financial records relating to the income of the applicant as stated on the application for the purpose of determining eligibility for the exemption or a possible violation of the homestead laws.
Only those whose income changes eligibility status from the previous year need provide their income. Any person who received a homestead reduction for the 2013 tax year (for manufactured homes-2014 tax year) is exempt from the income threshold requirement and is not required to report income.
If a person or person's surviving spouse moves to another residence in Ohio and that person received the homestead reduction for the 2013 tax year (2104 for manufactured homes), that person or the surviving spouse is exempt from the income threshold requirement for the homestead reduction at the new property. Form DTE 105G (PDF) must be filed with the auditor of the new county of residence.
A taxpayer who received a homestead reduction for tax year (TY) 2006 will always receive the greater of the reduction calculated for TY 2006 or the reduction under the current program. For manufactured homes, the reference year is tax year 2007. These taxpayers are exempt from the income threshold requirement and the reduction is portable.
Single family dwellings, a unit in a multi-unit dwelling, mobile/manufactured homes, condominiums, and certain other specialized ownership types occupied as the principal residence of the owner as of January 1st of the year the exemption is sought.
In general, these individuals are considered owners:
The benefit for eligible applicants is still a tax credit equal to the amount of tax on $25,000 of the "true value" appraisal of the home for Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses. The benefit for eligible applicants that are Disabled Veterans and their Surviving Spouses is a tax credit equal to the amount of tax on $50,000 of the "true value" appraisal of the home.
Depending upon the taxing district in which you reside, that would normally result in a savings of $250 to $400 per year ($125 to $200 per half) in Shelby County for qualified applicants that are Senior Citizens, Disabled Persons and Surviving Spouses. The savings for qualified applicants who are Disabled Veterans and their Surviving Spouses is $500 to $800 per year ($250 to $400 per half).
No. Taxpayers already on the program do not need to file a new application. Each year, the Auditor's Office will mail you a Continuing Homestead Exemption Application form (Form DTE 105B (PDF)). If no changes have occurred, you do not have to return this form.
At the discretion of the County Auditor, you may be asked for appropriate identification information. Providing false information on that application would be considered a perjury and subject to prosecution. Also, you would be barred from the program for 3 years thereafter and subject to repayment of any wrongfully claimed benefits plus interest on the benefits improperly received.
For approved applications, the exemption amount and tax reduction will be noted on the tax bill you receive in January of the year following the one in which you make application. If your application is rejected for any reason, you will receive written notification from the County Auditor on or before the first Monday in October. If you wish to appeal the Auditor's denial, you may complete DTE Form 106B (PDF) - Homestead Exemption and Owner-Occupancy Reduction Complaint.
View Directions to the Courthouse on Google Maps.
Shelby County Common Pleas CourtShelby County CourthouseP.O. Box 947Sidney, OH 45365Phone: 937-498-7230
The Clerk's Office is located on the 3rd floor of the Shelby County Courthouse.
The Common Pleas Court, General Division, hears criminal, civil, and domestic (divorces, dissolutions, modifications of custody and child support regarding children born of a marriage) cases.
The Court is not permitted to recommend or refer you to any particular attorney or law firm.
Court employees are prohibited by law to give legal advice or practice law. They may be able to provide procedural information.
Yes. You have the right to act as your own attorney, but our office cannot give you any advice as to the law.
The Court does not provide forms for the filing of a Complaint for Divorce or Petition for Dissolution. However, there are DR forms provided in the Clerk of Court's Office which must be filed in addition to a Complaint for Divorce or Petition for Dissolution.
The Juvenile Court handles cases involving children that were not born of a marriage. Juvenile Court's telephone number is 937-498-7255.
You should contact the Court Reporter at 937-498-7235 to request a transcript.
Sidney Municipal Court handles traffic violations if you are at least 18 years of age. Shelby County Juvenile Court handles traffic violations for those under 18 years of age.
No. You should contact an attorney for assistance in filing for expungement of your record.
Great question! Learn more by viewing Why Can't I Talk to the Judge? (PDF).
In Shelby County, jurors are selected from the list of registered voters in the county. However, Ohio law allows for jurors to be summoned from the list of registered voters in the county or jurors may be summoned from a combined list of registered voters and licensed drivers in the county.
To serve on a jury in a particular court, you must be a resident of the geographical area served by that particular court. Ohio jurors must be at least 18 years of age, and they must not have lost their right to serve on a jury by having been convicted of certain types of crime. Beyond that, everyone is given the opportunity to be a juror regardless of age (if at least 18) and regardless of occupation. If you are 76 years of age or older, you may request to be excused from jury duty.
A grand juror decides whether a person should be placed on trial for a criminal offense. A petit juror decides if the defendant is guilty or not guilty in a criminal trial. In a civil trial, the petit jury will decide the facts which are in dispute.
You will receive a summons in the mail telling you the exact date and time to report.
You may be selected for a term of four months. Usually, a juror is only called one time during the term. The average trial length is two to three days. Some jury trials last longer.
Yes. The parties involved in a case usually try to settle their differences and avoid the time and expense of a trial. Sometimes a case is settled only minutes before the trial begins. But your time spent waiting to serve is not wasted; your presence encourages settlement.
The type of case determines the number of jurors who must agree on a verdict. A civil case is usually between two or more persons, companies or corporations who have a dispute concerning money or property. In a civil case, the jurors must decide if and/or how to compensate the plaintiff for any damages. In civil cases, six jurors (three-fourths of the eight jurors) must agree on a verdict. In a criminal case, twelve jurors determine if an accused person is guilty or not guilty of a charge, and the verdict must be unanimous.
To be eligible to serve in Shelby County, you must reside in Shelby County. If you have moved from Shelby County, complete an application to be excused from jury duty and submit it to the Clerk of Courts. In the meantime, you may want to contact the Board of Elections to make sure they know that you have moved outside the county. Otherwise, you could continue to be called for service in Shelby County.
We apologize for any undue hardship this has caused. Please complete an application to be excused from jury duty for the deceased person and submit it to the Clerk of Courts. We will be sure to take the name out of our system. You should also contact the Board of Elections to make sure they have been notified that the family member is deceased. Otherwise, the name will remain on their records, allowing us to have access to it each year when new jurors are pulled.
The drawing of prospective jurors each year is a completely random process. There really isn't a good explanation of why some people are called more than once when others haven't been called at all.
To answer your question directly, yes. Your jury summons is an official court order. If anyone fails to report for jury duty without a lawful excuse from the court, they may be brought before the court for possible contempt of court proceedings. If found in contempt by the judge, the court may impose a fine and/or other punishment as provided by Ohio law.
Pick up and complete a juror's excuse form from the Clerk of Court's office, located on the third floor of the courthouse. If you have a physician's medical excuse, bring that with you to attach to the excuse form. Generally, work or employment is not sufficient to get excused. The judge will review your request and you will be notified of his decision.
Depending on the circumstances, the judge may allow you to serve later in the year.
Answer goes here...
The Court is not required to appoint counsel in private cases. Only when the State of Ohio is a party to the action as in cases of abuse, neglect, and dependency, is appointed counsel available.
Fines and costs in all cases filed with the Juvenile Court shall be paid at the conclusion of a case or as ordered. If payment is not made within a reasonable time period, the Court may elect to employ a collection agency to collect the same, pursuant to OH Revised Code (O.R.C.) 2152.20.
You will be notified by mail with the date of your court hearing. If you move after your case begins, you must notify the court of your new address.
If you live in Shelby County, you must appear with a parent or guardian if you are summoned to do so. If you don't live in Shelby County, the ticket or complaint will be transferred to the Juvenile Court in the county of your residence. In some instances you can post bond without appearing in court but you will receive notification that you can do so.
You must request driving privileges in writing by filling out the appropriate form and submitting to it to the court for approval from the magistrate or judge who presided over your case. Visit our Court Rules and Forms page to obtain the correct form.
The Shelby County Juvenile Court accepts payments by cash, personal check (if residing in Shelby County), certified check or money order.
You must contact the Juvenile Clerk's Office and request that your court date be continued. If you are represented by counsel, you must contact them for the filing of the proper paperwork. A continuance must be approved by the magistrate or judge or you are expected to appear at your scheduled date and time.
You are expected to and should dress properly for the occasion and should conduct yourself with propriety throughout the entire proceeding.
No shorts or sleeveless shirts.
Any individual adjudicated a delinquent or unruly child may fill out an application to apply for the sealing of his/her records pursuant to OH Revised Code (O.R.C.) 2151.356. Please visit our Court Rules and Forms page to obtain the application online.
The State of Ohio does not have an emancipation law. There is no specific statute or court rule in the State of Ohio that specifically provides for a child to be considered an emancipated minor.
If the answer is yes, and the other court is located in Ohio, you must first file your custody action in that court because it has continuing jurisdiction.
If yes, you must contact the Domestic Relations Court in the county where the divorce was filed.
If no, you must file in the county where the child resides unless Shelby County Juvenile Court has made a prior custody determination.
The best way is to contact an attorney who will gather information and put it in the correct format to file a complaint or motion. You may, however, choose to file a pro se action on your own. If you choose to do so, you must correctly prepare all forms and proper legal papers on your own. If you fail to correctly complete all papers, your case may be dismissed. The court cannot act as your attorney. If you choose to file on your own, it will be up to you to try your own case. You must also pay a filing fee of $250 to start an action or reopen an existing case.
Yes. It is important to gather all the important information so the magistrate or judge can make the decision that will be in the best interest of the child. Even if the parties agree about the outcome, the court must determine if all terms and provisions of an agreement are appropriate and in the best interest of the child.
Please arrange in advance for appropriate babysitting for younger children. Young children will not be permitted in the courtroom or unattended in the hallway unless at the discretion of the judge. Continuances will not be granted because you did not secure a babysitter.
You should first contact the child support enforcement agency in the county in which the order was issued. You may be able to address the issue through the administrative process and avoid the costs associated with court proceedings. Court orders may be changed by the issuance of another order or decision, which will be considered in a hearing in response to a motion.
The child support order will continue until the court terminates it. A motion and court hearing are usually required.
Failure to comply with a court order for support could result in a motion for contempt being filed with possibilities of financial penalties and/or incarceration. You can apply for the public defender by filling out a financial disclosure form in the Juvenile Clerk's Office. Anyone applying for public defender appointment may be required to pay a $25 indigent application fee. This fee is non-refundable and is paid to the court.
Visit our Court Rules and Forms page to obtain the application online.
$2 per page.
$4 per $1,000.
$0.50 per parcel.
Documents submitted with incorrect recording fees (short or over) will be returned unrecorded.